Degrees / Certificates / Diplomas Offered

Program Description

The Associate of Arts program allows students to complete their first two years of general college studies while living and working closer to home. After graduation, Associate of Arts students apply their 60 hours of earned college credit towards a Bachelor’s degree at the university level. The course options at SCC allow for smooth transfer to the many four-year universities in North Carolina. While in the Associate of Arts program at SCC, students will work closely with their academic advisors to choose courses that best align with their intended major at the university level. After graduation with an SCC Associate of Arts degree, students are prepared to enter university programs in the arts, business, communications, social sciences, and many other pre-professional concentrations. 

Transfer Opportunities 

The Associate of Arts degree has been developed to allow for the smooth transfer of courses and credits to a Bachelor’s degree at a university. Pathways called Baccalaureate Degree Plans ensure that students take the courses needed to enter specific programs at the university level. Articulation agreements both with public and private North Carolina universities ensure that SCC courses will transfer to the North Carolina four-year institution that the student plans to attend.  

Associate of Arts graduates often pursue further study in programs/career fields such as African American studies, art, business, communications, counseling, education, English, foreign languages, history, journalism, law, marketing, media specialist, music, political science, or psychology.

Program Links

LEAD INSTRUCTOR

Elizabeth High

Division Chair, Arts & Sciences and English Instructor

elizabeth.high@sccnc.edu

(910) 788-6367

INSTRUCTORS

Donte McDowell

Associate Division Chair Arts & Science/English Instructor

donte.mcdowell@sccnc.edu

(910) 788-6265

Molly Baxter

Biology Instructor

molly.baxter@sccnc.edu

(910) 788-6298

Daniel Britt

Physical Education Instructor/Baseball Coach

daniel.britt@sccnc.edu

910-788-6234

Jonathan Bullard

Math Instructor

jonathan.bullard@sccnc.edu

(910) 788-6209

Michael Cance

Math Instructor

michael.cance@sccnc.edu

(910) 788-6280

Miranda Ellington

Music Instructor

miranda.ellington@sccnc.edu

(910) 788-6291

Marcus Gallagher

English Instructor

marcus.gallagher@sccnc.edu

(910) 788-6371

Leroy Humphries

Biology Instructor

leroy.humphries@sccnc.edu

(910) 788-6242

Dr. James Hutcherson

Biology Instructor

james.hutcherson@sccnc.edu

(910) 788-6240

Kelly Jones

Communications Instructor

kelly.jones@sccnc.edu

(910) 788-6308

Gary Nealy

Chemistry Instructor

gary.nealy@sccnc.edu

(910) 788-6369

Richard Rabon

Psychology Instructor

richard.rabon@sccnc.edu

(910) 788-6328

Darian Ransom

Math Instructor

darian.ransom@sccnc.edu

(910) 788-6428

Mary Revels

Math Instructor

mary.revels@sccnc.edu

(910) 788-6218

Anna Richardson

English Instructor

anna.richardson@sccnc.edu

(910) 788-6233

Karlyn Stephens

Physical Education Instructor/Athletic Director/Softball Coach

karlyn.stephens@sccnc.edu

(910) 788-6289

Bradley Tyler

Psychology Instructor

brad.tyler@sccnc.edu

(910) 788-6357

Paul Van Gilder

History Instructor

paul.vangilder@sccnc.edu

(910) 788-6300