Procedure 4.14 - Admissions for Basic Law Enforcement Training Procedure

As required under 12 NCAC 09B.0203 and 12 NCAC 10B.0713, all students must meet the following requirements to be eligible for entry into C55120 Basic Law Enforcement Training (BLET). 

  • The student must be a citizen of the United States. 
  • The student must be at least 20 years of age unless a waiver is received because the student will turn 20 during the course. 
  • Priority will be given in admission to individuals holding full-time employment with criminal justice agencies. 
  • Make a satisfactory score on a reading placement assessment. 
  • Provide the state required medical examination reports indicating the individual’s fitness to perform the essential job functions of a criminal justice officer. 
  • The student is a high school graduate or has passed the General Educational Development Test. High school diplomas earned through correspondence enrollment are not recognized for this requirement. 
  • Provide a certified criminal record check for local and state records for the time period since the trainee has become an adult and from all locations where the trainee has resided since becoming an adult. Has not been convicted of any of the following: 
    1. a felony; 
    2. a crime for which the punishment could have been imprisonment for more than two years; 
    3. a crime or unlawful act defined as a “Class B Misdemeanor” within the five year period prior to the date of application for employment unless the individual intends to seek certification through the North Carolina Sheriffs’ Education and Training Standards Commission; 
    4. four or more crimes or unlawful acts as defined as “Class B Misdemeanors” regardless of the date of conviction; 
    5. four or more crimes or unlawful acts defined as “Class A Misdemeanors” except the trainee may be enrolled if the last conviction occurred more than two years prior to the date of enrollment; 
    6. a combination of four or more “Class A Misdemeanors” or “Class B Misdemeanors” regardless of the date of conviction. 

Note: Individuals charged with crimes as specified in this Rule, and such offenses were dismissed or the person was found not guilty, may be admitted into the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course but completion of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course does not ensure that certification as a law enforcement officer or justice officer through the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission will be issued. Provide notice of all criminal offenses which the trainee is arrested for or charged with, pleads no contest to, pleads guilty to or is found guilty of, and all Domestic Violence Orders (G.S. 50B) and Civil No Contact Orders (G.S. 50C) which are issued by a judicial official that provide an opportunity for both parties to be present. This includes all criminal offenses except minor traffic offenses and specifically includes any offense of Driving Under the Influence (DUI) or Driving While Impaired (DWI). A minor traffic offense is defined, for the purposes of this Paragraph, as a G.S. 20 offense, or similar laws of other jurisdictions, where the maximum punishment allowable by law is 60 days or less. Other offenses under G.S. 20 (Motor Vehicles) or other similar laws of other jurisdictions which shall be reported include G.S. 20-139 (persons under influence of drugs), G.S. 20-28 (driving while license permanently revoked or permanently suspended), G.S. 20-30(5) (fictitious name or address in application for license or learner’s permit), G.S. 20-37.8 (fraudulent use of a fictitious name for a special identification card), G.S. 20-102.1 (false report of theft or conversion of a motor vehicle), G.S. 20-111(5) (fictitious name or address in application for registration), G.S. 20-130.1 (unlawful use of red or blue lights), G.S. 20-137.2 (operation of vehicles resembling law enforcement vehicles), G.S. 20141.3 (unlawful racing on streets and highways), G.S. 20-141.5 (speeding to elude arrest), G.S. 20-166 (duty to stop in event of accident) and any other offenses included in the Class B Misdemeanor Manual. The notifications required under this Paragraph must be in writing, must specify the nature of the offense, the court in which the case was handled, the date of the arrest or criminal charge, the date of issuance of the Domestic Violence Order (G.S. 50B) or Civil No Contact Order (G.S. 50C), the final disposition, and the date thereof. The notifications required under this Paragraph must be received within 30 days of the date the case was disposed of in court. The requirements of this Paragraph are applicable at all times during which the trainee is enrolled in a Basic Law Enforcement Training Course. 


Revised: October 28, 2020

Reviewed: February 2020