Tuition is low at SCC—only $76* per credit hour, up to a maximum of $1,216* per semester for 16 credit hours, for North Carolina residents. Tuition and fees for one semester in 2020-2021 (fall or spring) for students who are North Carolina residents taking 16 or more credit hours are as follows: 

 Tuition*   $1,216.00 
Activity Fee (8 hours or more)  32.00 
Technology Fee  32.00 
Insurance (subject to change by insurance carrier)  1.25 
I.D. Fee  1.75 
Campus Access Transportation & Security Fee (CATS)  12.00 
Student Advancement & Graduation Fee  5.00 
Maximum Total (tuition and fees for one semester)  $1,300.00 

*Subject to change by the North Carolina Board of Community Colleges or the General Assembly and/or the Southeastern Community College Board of Trustees.  

Out-of-state students (non-residents) pay a tuition fee of $268 per credit hour, up to a maximum of $4,288 per semester. With the activity fee of $32, technology use fee of $32, I.D. fee of $1.75, Campus Access Transportation & Security fee of $12, and insurance fee of $1.25 (subject to change by insurance carrier), the total maximum semester tuition and fees for non-resident students is $4,372 for 2018-2019. 

Due to special instructional/assessment processes, some courses also include special fees to cover these costs. 

In cases of instruction provided by Southeastern Community College to individuals belonging to outside agencies, as permitted by the state board of community colleges, tuition and fees will be set by the agreements with those agencies based upon the student’s access to campus, technology and activities. When instruction is provided to students of other institutions using Southeastern Community College resources, a campus-use fee consisting of the technology, insurance, ID and CATS fees will be charged to those students, and they will be permitted to use campus facilities in the same manner as a Southeastern Community College student. These students may also choose to pay the activity fee to be allowed to participate in student activity funded events. 


Annual expenses are estimated for the academic year (fall and spring semesters) for average full-time North Carolina students in the 2018-2019 academic year.  

Living at Home with Pa  rents    In-State 
Tuition and Fees (based  on  16  hours)  $2,446.00 
Books and Supplies  1,400.00 
Board at Home  4,500.00 
Transportation  2,250.00 
Miscellaneous  1,350.00 
Total for Two Semesters  $11,946.00 


Living Off Campus        In-State 
Tuition and Fees (based  on  16  hours)  $2,446.00 
Books and Supplies  1,400.00 
Board at Home  9,450.00 
Transportation  2,250.00 
Miscellaneous  1,350.00 
Total for Two Semesters  $16,896.00 

Out-of-state students should add $6,128 to each total because of the higher tuition rates for non- residents. Married students should also expect higher costs for housing and other personal expenses. 

The cost of books and supplies varies according to the programs in which students are enrolled. 

Students in allied health programs must purchase malpractice insurance (approximately $17.50), clinical uniforms, and shoes; they must obtain the necessary immunizations and drug screen required by the programs. Nursing students are also required to purchase testing and laboratory supplies (totaling approximately $230). Additionally, clinical sites may require background checks for students costing approximately $94. 

Students may be required to purchase class related items or pay approved fees.  For example, cosmetology students must buy a cosmetology kit required by the state of North Carolina (approximate cost $800), black uniforms, and black closed-toe shoes. Fees for classes are approved by the college’s Board of Trustees.  For a complete list of approved curriculum fees, please contact the Vice President of Academic Affairs office. 


Costs of Continuing Education courses can be found in the “Continuing Education” section of this publication. 


Students who take at least one curriculum course and who enroll for eight or more hours pay an activity fee of $32 each fall and spring semester during the academic year. Students who enroll for seven hours or less pay an activity fee of $16. During the summer term, there is no activity fee charged. The activity fees are used by the Student Government Association (SGA) to support activities, such as intercollegiate athletics, competitions, student clubs, entertainment, and academic and athletic awards. 

Students living more than 50 miles from the Whiteville, NC, campus who are only taking online courses may request a waiver of their student activity fee if they do not desire to participate in the student events on campus. Students should write a request to the Vice President of Student Services and provide appropriate documentation. 


Students pay a semester fee of $1.75 for a photo I.D. card. The card admits students to SGA- sponsored activities and entitles students to admission discounts at other college events. Students enrolled in Basic Skills or similar programs will be issued a non-photo I.D. card. The student identification card also serves as a library card. There is a $5 fee for replacement cards. 


Low-cost student accident insurance is required of all curriculum students for a fee of $1.25 per semester (fee subject to change by the insurance company). 

Malpractice insurance is required of students enrolled in certain programs such as  health technologies and cosmetology. 


Students pay a semester fee of $12 for a permit to use of campus facilities. This fee is collected to help provide campus access, security, and safety for our students. 


The Student Advancement and Graduation fee provides funds not only for costs associated with the graduation ceremony and the printing of certificates and diplomas but also for resources to assist in improving student success. This fee does not include the costs of cap, gown, regalia, graduation announcements, and personal cards. 


North Carolina residents are eligible for a lower tuition rate than non-residents. The controlling North Carolina statute (G.S. 116-143.1) states that “To qualify as a resident for tuition purposes, a person must have established legal residence (domicile) in North Carolina and maintained that legal residence for at least twelve (12) months immediately prior to his/her classification as a resident for tuition purposes.” Ownership of property in or payment of taxes to the State of North Carolina does not automatically qualify one for the in-state tuition rate. 

Residency status is determined by the Residency Determination Service (RDS). The purpose and mission of RDS is to provide leadership and administration of residency determination in accordance with North Carolina residency laws and applicable federal statutes. The RDS goal is to provide students access to transparent information and opportunity to claim NC residency in a simple, accurate and straightforward manner. For more information on residency for tuition purposes, contact RDS at www.ncresidency.cfnc.org/residencyInfo/, telephone 844-896-2411 or fax 919-835-2427. 

Students may appeal the decision made by RDS. The RDS has up to eight days to make a decision regarding the appeal. 

An out-of-state student’s tuition paid by an in-state employer will be charged at the in-state rate. Students must disclose any change of residency to the registrar or director of student services. 


The State Board of Community Colleges Code specifies the circumstances in which tuition refunds can be made. A refund will be made under the following circumstances: 

  1. A 100 percent refund will be made if the college cancels a course section in which the student is registered. 
  2. A 100 percent refund will be made if the student officially withdraws or is officially withdrawn by the college prior to the first day of the academic term as noted in the college calendar. 
  3. A 75 percent refund will be made if the student officially withdraws or is officially withdrawn by the college from the course section prior to or at the official 10 percent point of the semester 
  4. For classes beginning at times other than the first week (seven calendar days) of the semester, a 100 percent refund will be made if the student officially withdraws or is officially withdrawn by the college from the course section prior to the first class meeting. A 75 percent refund will be made if the student officially withdraws or is officially withdrawn by the college from the course section prior to or on the 10 percent point of the course section. 
  5. A 100 percent refund will be made if the student officially withdraws or is officially withdrawn by the college from a contact hour course section prior to the first day of class of the academic semester or term or if the college cancels the course section. A 75 percent refund will be made if the student officially withdraws from a contact hour course section on or before the tenth calendar day of the class. 
  6. Refund Due to Death of Student – When a student, having paid the required tuition or registration fees for a course section, dies prior to completing that course section, all tuition and registration fees for that course section shall be refunded to the estate of the deceased upon the college being made aware of the student’s death.  
  7. Military Tuition Refund – Upon request of the student, each college shall: 
    1. Grant a full refund of tuition and registration fees to military reserve and National Guard personnel called to active duty or active-duty personnel who have received temporary or permanent reassignments as a result of military operations that make it impossible for them to complete their course requirements; and 
    2. Buyback textbooks through the college’s bookstore operations to the extent allowable under the college’s buyback procedures. The college shall use distance learning technologies and other educational methodologies to help active-duty students complete their course requirements under the guidance of faculty and administrative staff. 

 Applicable federal regulations regarding refunds will supersede state refund regulations stated in this rule.