Chartered on February 6, 1964, Southeastern Community College (SCC) is a public, comprehensive community college providing accessible educational, cultural, and social opportunities for area adults. Over 100 occupational and liberal arts curriculum certificates, diplomas and degrees are offered by the college.

Classes are small, quality is high, and student services, such as counseling and tutoring, help students realize their potential. More than 1,800 students enroll in SCC’s college-credit courses annually. SCC provides a wide range of continuing education courses throughout Columbus County, serving more than 7,000 students annually. Through the college, enriching cultural events are brought to the area, and community services are provided for citizens of all ages.

The 246-acre campus is on the Chadbourn Highway between Whiteville and Chadbourn in Southeastern North Carolina. SCC is a one-hour drive from historic cities of Wilmington and Fayetteville, North Carolina, as well as the beaches of both North and South Carolina.

SCC Timeline of Events

February 6, 1964
SCC was chartered

February 17, 1964
College Board launched

Courses began and were held at community high schools.

Construction began on SCC’s Campus, All temporary facilities were isolated to Chadbourn campus.

First Degrees Awarded: 51 Associate Degrees & 43 Vocational Diplomas, First entering class on new campus.

First Associate Degree Nurses Graduated, Cosmetology, Agri-Business, & Diesel Mechanics Programs were established.

Summer Semester Established.

SCC began offering the Emergency Medical Technician program through the NC Office of Emergency Medical Services.

Police Science Program Established, Began offering night classes at Brunswick Co. High Schools.

Criminal Justice Degree offered which evolved into current Basic Law Enforcement Training (BLET), More buildings were added to the campus to accommodate growth.

The Emergency Medical Tech training was expanded to the EMT-Intermediate and EMT-Paramedic programs.

Small Business Center & Library Opened.

EMT-Defibrillation Program was established.


Partnership with Brunswick Electric began.


College Presidents

Southeastern Community College has had 10 presidents since 1964.

  • Dr. Chris English: August 2020 to Present
  • Dr. Anthony Clarke: November 2014 to 2019
  • Dr. Kathy Matlock: October 2004 to November 2014
  • Dr. Brantley Briley: June 2000 to May 2004
  • Dr. Stephen Scott: August 1988 to August 1999
  • Dr. Dan Moore: February 1982 to April 1988
  • Dr. W. Ronald McCarter: December 1973 to February 1982
  • Dr. William Cottingham: July 1969 to June 1973
  • Dr. E. Philip Comer: July 1967 to June 1969
  • Dr. Warren Land: July 1964 to July 1966